Faculty & Staff

Introduction Paragraph – TBA

Akhilesh Tyagi

Department: ECpE
Homepage: None
Office: 317 Durham Hall
Email: tyagi@cs.iastate.edu
Phone: 515-294-4396
Fax: 515-294-8432

Research:

  • Hardware Security
  • Mobile Security
  • Computer Architecture
  • VLSI Design and CAD
Alex Tuckness

Department: PolS
Homepage: http://www.pols.iastate.edu/faculty/alex-tuckness/
Office: 529 Ross Hall
Email: tuckness@iastate.edu
Phone: 515-294-8910
Fax: 515-294-1003

Research:

  • Ethical and Constitutional Issues in Information Assurance
Arun Somani

Department: ECpE
Homepage: http://ecpe.ece.iastate.edu/arun/
Office: 391C Durham
Email: arun@iastate.edu
Phone: 515-294-0442
Fax: 515-294-8432

Research:

  • Optical Fiber Networking
  • Computer System Architecture
  • Dependable Computing
  • Reconfigurable System Design
Ashfaq Khokhar

Department: ECpE
Homepage: http://ecpe.ece.iastate.edu/
Office: 2215 Coover Hall
Email: asjfaq@iastate.edu
Phone: 515-294-1097
Fax: 515-294-8432

Research:

  • Multimedia analytics

 

Cliff Bergman

Department: MATH
Homepage: http://www.math.iastate.edu/cbergman/
Office: 424 Carver Hall
Email: cbergman@iastate.edu
Phone: 515-294-8137
Fax: 515-294-5454

Research:

  • Cryptography
  • Algebra
  • Algorithms
Daji Qiao

Department: ECpE
Homepage: http://home.eng.iastate.edu/~daji/
Office: 3214 Coover Hall
Email: daji@iastate.edu
Phone: 515-294-2390
Fax: 515-294-3637

Research:

  • Cyber security and cloud computing
  • Wireless networking and mobile computing
Dan Zhu

Department: SCIS
Homepage: http://www.bus.iastate.edu/dzhu/
Office: 3226 Gerdin Business
Email: dzhu@iastate.edu
Phone: 515-294-5041
Fax: 515-294-2534

Research:

  • Decision Support Systems
  • Data Mining
  • Knowledge Management
David Jiles

Department: ECpE
Homepage: http://home.engineering.iastate.edu/~dcjiles/homepage.html
Office: 2215 Coover Hall
Email: dcjiles@iastate.edu
Phone: 515-294-2664
Fax: 515-294-3637

Research:

  • Magnetism and magnetic materials
  • Condensed matter and materials physics
  • Electronic properties of materials
  • Nondestructive evaluation of materials
Diane Rover

Department: ECpE
Homepage: http://home.eng.iastate.edu/~drover/
Office: 333 Durham
Email: drover@iastate.edu
Phone: 515-294-2819
Fax: 515-294-8432

Research:

  • Secure and Reliable Computing
  • Software Systems
  • Cyber Infrastructure
Doug Jacobson

Department: ECpE & IAC Director
Homepage: http://www.dougj.net/
Office: 371 B Durham
Email: dougj@iastate.edu
Phone: 515-294-8307
Fax: 515-294-7582

Research:

  • IAC
  • ISEAGE
  • Security and Software Engineering Research Center
  • Computer and Network Security
  • Information Warfare

Eric Rozier

Department: ComS
Homepage:  https://dataengineering.org/erozier/
Office:  227 Atanasoff
Email: erozier@iastate.edu
Phone: 515-294-4377
Fax: 515-294-0258

Research:

  • Data Science and Engineering
  • Cybersecurity and Privacy
  • Machine Learning and Modeling
Ginny Anderson (Staff)

Department: ECpE & IAC (assistant admin)
Homepage: None
Office: 371 C Durham
Email: ginny@iastate.edu
Phone: 515-294-0659
Fax: 515-294-7582

Hridesh Rajan

Department: ComS
Homepage: http://www.cs.iastate.edu/~hridesh/
Office: 226 Atanasoff
Email: hridesh@iastate.edu
Phone: 512-294-6168
Fax: 515-294-0258

Research:

  • Data Science
  • Big Data Analytics
  • Programming Languages and Compilers
  • Software Engineering
Jacquelyn Rees Ulmer

Department:  Supply Chain & Information Systems
Homepage: http://www.business.iastate.edu/faculty/?faculty=jrulmer
Office: 2343 Gerdin Business Building
Email: jrulmer@iastate.edu
Phone: 512-294-6232
Fax:  515-294-2534

Research:

  • Genetic algorithms
  • Text Mining
  • Machine Learning
  • Information Security
Jim Davis

Department:  Supply Chain & Information Systems
Homepage:  http://www.business.iastate.edu/faculty/?faculty=davis
Office: 3133 Gerdin Business Building
Email: davis@iastate.edu
Phone: 512-294-4141
Fax:

Research:

  • Enterprise Cybersecurity Management
  • Security Analytics
  • Security education
  • Enterprise IT Operations
Jan Wiersema
Department: ELPS
Homepage: None
Office: N002 Lagomarcino
Email: janw@iastate.edu
Phone: 515-294-4030
Fax: 515-294-4942

Research:

  • Educational Leadership and Policy Studies
Jennifer Newman

Department: MATH
Homepage: https://math.iastate.edu/directory/jennifer-newman/
Office: 396 Carver Hall
Email: jlnewman@iastate.edu
Phone: 515-294-0302
Fax: 515-294-5454

Research:

  • Applications of solutions to image processing problems using decrete mathematics
  • Forensic
Jim McCormick

Department: PolS
Homepage: http://www.pols.iastate.edu/faculty/james-mccormick/
Office: 519 Ross Hall
Email: jmmcc@iastate.edu
Phone: 515-294-8682
Fax: 515-294-1003

Research:

  • American Foreign Policy and Process
Joe Zambreno

Department: ECpE
Homepage: http://www.ece.iastate.edu/~zambreno/
Office: 327 Durham Hall
Email: zambreno@iastate.edu
Phone: 515-294-3312
Fax:

Research:

  • Reconfigurable Computing
  • Computer Security
  • Compilers
  • Computer Architecture
John Burnley

Department: SCIS
Homepage: http://info.iastate.edu/individuals/info/224147/Burnley-John 
Office: 3122 Gerdin
Email: jburnley@iastate.edu
Phone: 515-294-5953
Fax:

Research:

Johnny Wong

Department: ComS
Homepage: http://www.cs.iastate.edu/~wong/homepage.html
Office: 202 Atanasoff
Email: wong@iastate.edu
Phone: 515-294-2586
Fax: 515-294-0258

Research:

  • Distributed Computing and Networks
  • Information Security
  • Multi-Agent Systems
  • Software Systems
  • Multimedia Systems
Julie Dickerson

Department: ECpE
Homepage: http://home.eng.iastate.edu/~julied/
Office: 3123 Coover Hall
Email: julied@iastate.edu
Phone: 515-294-7706
Fax: None

Research:

  • Fundamental Issues underlying the design of Intelligent Systems
Julie Rursch

Department: ECpE
Homepage: None
Office: 371G Durham
Email: jrursch@iastate.edu
Phone: 515-294-2803
Fax: 515-294-7582

Research:

  • Critical Infrastructure Modeling
Kevin Scheibe

Department: SCIS
Homepage: http://www.bus.iastate.edu/kscheibe/
Office: 3343 Gerdin Business
Email: kscheibe@iastate.edu
Phone: 515-294-0545
Fax: 515-294-2534

Research:

  • Business Analytics
  • Decision Support
  • Privacy and Security
Lotfi ben Othmane

Department: ECpE
Homepage:  http://home.eng.iastate.edu/~othmanel/index.html
Office: 315 Durham Hall
Email: othmanel@iastate.edu
Phone: 515-294-0416
Fax: 515-294-8432

Research:

  • Software Security
  • Agile secure software development and SecDevOps
  • Empirical-based cyber security research
Mani Mina

Department: ECpE
Homepage: http://class.ece.iastate.edu/mmina/
Office: 341 Durham
Email: mmina@iastate.edu
Phone: 515-294-3918
Fax: 515-294-8432

Research:

  • Optical Communication and Networking
  • Electromagnetism
Manimaran Govindarasu

Department: ECpE
Homepage: http://vulcan.ece.iastate.edu/~gmani/mani.html
Office: 2218 Coover Hall
Email: gmani@iastate.edu
Phone: 515-294-9175
Fax: 515-294-8432

Research:

  • Real-Time Embedded Systems
  • QoS and Overlay Networks
  • Cyber Security
  • Cyber and Physical Security of Critical Infrastructure
Neil Gong

Department: ECpE
Homepage: http://home.engineering.iastate.edu/~neilgong/
Office: 3216 Coover Hall
Email: neilgong@iastate.edu
Phone: 515-294-6323
Fax: 515-294-8432

Research:

  • Online Social Networks;  Security, Privacy, and Mining
  • User Authentication
  • Secure and Privacy-preserving machine Learning/Data Mining
Qing Hu

Department: BUS
Homepage: http://www.bus.iastate.edu/qinghu/
Office: 2340 Gerdin
Email: qinghu@iastate.edu
Phone: 515-294-8925
Fax: 515-294-2534

Research:

  • Information Technology Strategy
  • Electronic Commerce
  • Business Applications Development
Ratnesh Kumar

Department: ECpE
Homepage: http://home.eng.iastate.edu/~rkumar/
Office: 3217 Coover Hall
Email: rkumar@iastate.edu
Phone: 515-294-8523
Fax: 515-294-8432

Research:

  • Cyber Physical Security
  • Resiliency and Secrecy Metrics
  • SCADA and Network Security
  • Analytical and Formal methods for Security
  • Compositional Reasoning and Model-Based Design
  • Runtime Assurance
  • Hybrid Dynamical and Real-time Systems
Robyn Lutz

Department: ComS
Homepage: http://www.cs.iastate.edu/~rlutz/
Office: 228 Atanasoff
Email: rlutz@iastate.edu
Phone: 515-294-3654
Fax: 515-294-0258

Research:

  • Software engineering
  • Software safety
  • Safety-critical product lines
  • Requirements analysis for molecular programming and nanoscale self-assembly
  • Safety-critical product lines
  • Requirements engineering
  • Formal methods for specification and verification
  • Fault monitoring and recovery for spacecraft autonomy
Samik Basu

Department: ComS
Homepage: http://www.cs.iastate.edu/~sbasu
Office: 210 Atanasoff
Email: sbasu@iastate.edu
Phone: 515-294-6045
Fax: 515-294-0258
Research:

  • Software Engineering
  • Software Systems
  • Information Security
Sang W. Kim

Department: ECpE
Homepage: http://home.eng.iastate.edu/~swkim/homepage.htm
Office: 3112 Coover Hall
Email: swkim@iastate.edu
Phone: 515-294-2726
Fax: 515-294-8432

Research:

  • Physical-layer security
  • Integrity check
  • Spread spectrum
  • Wireless communications
Sree Nilakanta

Department: SCIS
Homepage: http://www.bus.iastate.edu/nilakant/
Office: 3218 Gerdin Business
Email: nilakant@iastate.edu
Phone: 515-294-8113
Fax: 515-294-2534

Research:

  • Business Process Management
  • Process Integration
Sri Tirthapura

Department: ECpE
Homepage: http://home.eng.iastate.edu/~snt/
Office: 3212 Coover Hall
Email: snt@iastate.edu
Phone: 515-294-3546
Fax: 515-294-8432

Research:

  • Algorithms for Big Data
  • Data Stream Analytics
  • Data-driven methods for cyber security
Steffen Schmidt

Department: PolS
Homepage: www.public.iastate.edu/~sws
Office: 549 Ross Hall
Email: sws@iastate.edu
Phone: 515-294-3825
Fax: 515-294-1003

Research:

  • Info Assurance
  • Identity Theft
  • Cyber Politics
Sung-Yell Song

Department: MATH
Homepage: http://orion.math.iastate.edu/sysong/
Office: 442 Carver Hall
Email: sysong@iastate.edu
Phone: 515-294-5866
Fax: 515-294-5454

Research:

  • Number theory
  • Cryptography
Tom Daniels

Department: ECpE
Homepage: http://home.eng.iastate.edu/~daniels/
Office: 2214 Coover Hall
Email: daniels@iastate.edu
Phone: 515-294-8375
Fax: 515-294-1152

Research:

  • Network attribution
  • Secure and reliable computing
  • Cyber infrastructure
  • Intrusion Detection
Tony Townsend

Department: SCIS
Homepage: http://www.bus.iastate.edu/amt/
Office: 3327 Gerdin Business
Email: amt@iastate.edu
Phone: 515-294-7834
Fax: 515-294-2534

Research:

  • Graph theory and combinatorics
Wensheng Zhang

Department: ComS
Homepage: http://www.cs.iastate.edu/~wzhang
Office: 109 Atanasoff
Email: wzhang@cs.iastate.edu
Phone: 515-294-2821
Fax: 515-294-0258

Research:

  • Distributed Computing and Networks
  • Information Security
  • Cyber Security and Cloud Computing
Ying Cai

Department: ComS
Homepage:  http://web.cs.iastate.edu/~yingcai/
Office: 201 Atanasoff Hall
Email: yingcai@iastate.edu
Phone: 515-294-6075
Fax: 515-294-0258

Research:

  • Cloud computing
  • Privacy and security
  • Mobile computing
  • Multimedia systems
Yiu Tung Poon

Department: Math
Homepage: http://orion.math.iastate.edu/ytpoon/
Office: 460 Carver Hall
Email: ytpoon@iastate.edu
Phone: 515-294-8154
Fax: 515-294-5454

Research:

  • Analysis
  • Quantum Information & quantum computation
  • Matrix theory
  • Operator theory
  • Operator algebra
Yong Guan

Department: ECpE
Homepage: http://home.eng.iastate.edu/~guan/
Office: 3216 Coover Hall
Email: guan@ee.iastate.edu
Phone: 515-294-8378
Fax: 515-294-8432

Research:

  • Computer Networks and Distributed Systems including Computer and Network Forensics
  • Wireless and Sensor Network Security
  • Privacy-enhancing Technologies
  • Real-time Computing and Communication